With the creation of the Ministry of Cultural and Environmental Patrimony - il Ministero per i Beni Culturali e Ambientali (MiBAC), the Gallery became a special administrative and managerial authority, in Italian: Soprintendenza. In this case the Soprintendenza of the National Gallery of Modern and Contemporary Art.

At the same time a series of donations led to the acquisition of various works and buildings: those of Andrea Blanceflor Boncompagni Ludovisi (1972), the sculptor Manzù (1979) and the Praz collection and archive (1986).

From 1975 to the present there have been seven directors of the Soprintendenza: Italo Faldi, Giorgio De Marchis, Dario Durbé, Eraldo Gaudioso, Augusta Monferini, Sandra Pinto and currently Maria Vittoria Marini Clarelli.